Bangladesh set to form 47-member cabinet tomorrow, will induct 31 new faces

first_imgBangladesh is set to form a 47-member cabinet, led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, tomorrow (January 7), the Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam said on Sunday (January 6).Awami League returned to power for the third successive term in a landslide victory in the election held on December 30. Out of the cabinet ministers who have served for the last five years, 36 were excluded. Almost all of those dropped were senior ministers and leaders.PM Sheikh Hasina did not hand any ministry to any coalition partner in this cabinet.”Thirty-one new faces will be inducted in the cabinet to be formed with three technocrat ministers,” Cabinet Secretary said during a briefing in the afternoon.There will be 24 ministers, 19 state ministers and three deputy ministers in the cabinet. They will take oath at 3:30 pm in Bangabhaban.The official gazette over the new cabinet will be published immediately after the oath-taking ceremony, the cabinet secretary said.With the publication of the gazette, the outgoing cabinet will be abolished, he added.According to the list of the cabinet members, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will keep the portfolio for the Cabinet Division, Ministry of Public Administration, Ministry of Defence, Armed Forces Division, Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources and Ministry of Women and Children Affairs.The would-be ministers include AKM Mozammel Huq (Liberation War Affairs), Obaidul Quader (Road Transport and Bridges), Md Abdur Razzaque (Agriculture), Asaduzzaman Khan (Home Affair), Mohammad Hasan Mahmud (Information) and Anisul Huq (Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs), among others.The would-be state ministers include Kamal Ahmed Majumder (Industries), Imran Ahmad (Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment), Md Zahid Ahsan Russel (Youth and Sports), Nasrul Hamid (Power, Energy and Mineral Resources), and Md Ashraf Ali Khan Kashru (Fisheries and Livestock), among others.advertisementThe three would-be deputy ministers are Begum Habibun Nahar (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), AKM Enamul Haque Shamim (Water Resources) and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury (Education).Also Read | Bangladesh terror group leaders keen on crossing border after Awami League’s election winAlso Watch | How Sheikh Hasina became one of world’s most powerful Muslim leaderslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *